Parish Councils

Parish councils have a wide range of powers including looking after community buildings, planning, street lighting, allotments. They also have the power to raise money through council tax.

They are democratically elected local authorities and there are 26 parish councils that fall within the Peterborough City Council area. These are:

  • Ailsworth
  • Bainton & Ashton
  • Barnack
  • Bretton
  • Castor
  • Deeping Gate
  • Etton
  • Eye
  • Glinton
  • Hampton
  • Helpston
  • Marholm
  • Maxey
  • Newborough & Borough Fen
  • Northborough
  • Orton Longueville
  • Orton Waterville
  • Peakirk
  • Southorpe
  • Sutton
  • Thorney
  • Thornhaugh
  • Ufford
  • Wansford
  • Wittering
  • Wothorpe

If you have any queries relating to Parish Council elections please contact

Code of conduct

Each parish council within Peterborough has adopted a Code of Conduct which can be viewed by contacting the Clerk of each of those parishes.

The Code of Conduct sets out the expected behaviours required of the council's members or co-opted members.

Register of interests

Parish councils are required to keep a register of their members disclosable pecuniary interests. Interests for parish councillors can be viewed on our democracy site by selecting a parish council, then the councillor.

Parish councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue.

Size: 97KBFile format: pdf
Size: 395KBFile format: pdf
Size: 374KBFile format: pdf
Size: 75KBFile format: pdf
Size: 46KBFile format: pdf
Size: 43KBFile format: pdf