Are you on the electoral register?

With council and parish elections due to take place in 10 weeks, residents in Peterborough should ensure that they are on the electoral register. If not, they could miss their chance to vote.

Registered voters in the May 2018 elections will elect 18 city ward councillors on Thursday 3 May 2018 in the following wards: Bretton, Central, Dogsthorpe, East, Eye, Thorney and Newborough, Fletton and Stanground, Fletton and Woodston, Gunthorpe, Hampton Vale, Hargate and Hempsted, North, Orton Longueville, Orton Waterville, Park, Paston and Walton, Ravensthorpe, Stanground South, Werrington.Parish council elections will also be held in Ailsworth, Castor, Glinton, Marholm, Newborough and Borough Fen, Peakirk, Sutton, Thorney, Thornhaugh, Wansford and Wittering.

Residents have until Tuesday, 17 April to make sure they are registered. Anyone not on the register by then will not be able to vote.

Rachel Edwards, Peterborough City Council's Head of Constitutional Services, said: "We want to make sure that no-one misses out on their right to take part in the elections. This year, one third of the ward councillors in the city will be up for election.

"If you want your voice to be heard, make sure you're on the electoral register. People often think they're automatically registered if they pay council tax, but that isn’t the case."

The fastest way to register to vote is online at the website.

The deadline to register to vote by post is 5pm on Wednesday 18 April, please contact the Elections helpline telephone number on 01733 452249 or email: to arrange for an application form to be sent.

People can also visit the Town Hall in Bridge Street, Peterborough to register. They must bring documents to verify their name and address (a utility bill or council tax bill), and either a passport or driving licence with photographic evidence.

To vote in a local government election a person must be registered to vote and also be one of the following:

  • A British citizen living in the UK
  • A qualifying Commonwealth citizen living in the UK
  • A citizen of the Republic of Ireland living in the UK
  • A European Union citizen living in the UK

The count for the local elections will be held at Kingsgate Conference Centre on Thursday 3 May with the results declared in the early hours of Friday 4 May.

Processing Request