Conservatives gain control of Peterborough City Council

Peterborough City Council is now in Conservative control following local elections on Thursday 5 May 2016. 

The Conservatives won 31 seats, followed by Labour with 14 seats, Liberal Democrats (7 seats), Liberals (3 seats), Werrington First Independents (3 seats) and UKIP (2 seats).

Sixty seats were up for election across 22 wards, representing the first all-out election in Peterborough since 2004. This was in response to changes to warding arrangements introduced by the Boundary Commission, which saw the number of councillors rise from 57 to 60 and the number of wards reduce from 24 to 22.

A detailed list of results can be found on the Local Government Elections 2016 page.

The Peterborough count for the Police and Crime Commissioner election will take place today (Friday 6 May) from midday at Peterborough Arena, the result will be published on the East Cambridgeshire District Council website.  

Processing Request