Olympic and Paralympic heroes to be presented with the Freedom of the City

A special reception will be held at the Town Hall on Tuesday (21 March) to present the Freedom of the City to Peterborough’s Olympic and Paralympic heroes.

Gymnast Louis Smith MBE, who has won four medals across three Olympic Games, and gold medal winning Paralympic rower James Fox MBE will receive the honour at the event.

Former city councillors Charles Swift OBE and Shelia Scott OBE will also be presented with scrolls bestowing them with the status of Honorary Alderman.

Charles Swift served as councillor for 62 years after first being elected in 1954.

Paralympic basketball star Lee Manning was also awarded the Freedom of the City and former councillor Adrian Miners was made an Honorary Alderman at a special council meeting in December, however they are unable to attend the presentation evening.

Councillor Peter Hiller, chair of the council’s honours selection panel, said: "Louis, James and Lee are three of the greatest athletes that Peterborough has ever produced and it can only be right that they are receiving the city’s highest honour.

“We are incredibly proud of their achievements and hope that there will be more medals to come in the future.

“Sheila and Adrian will be rewarded for their hard work and dedication as councillors - and Charles’s devotion to this city is simply unrivalled."

The reception has been sponsored by the council’s partners Arcus Global. Music will be provided by the Peterborough Centre for Young Musicians.

Processing Request