Skip to main content

Civic Award winners confirmed

12 May 2023

This year’s Peterborough Civic Award winners have been recognised at a special ceremony.

The Civic Awards are held annually and aim to recognise residents, groups, organisations and businesses who have made a real difference to the local community.

In total, 38 recipients were honoured this year and received their accolades at a presentation evening at Peterborough Town Hall yesterday evening.

Among the winners were David Jost and Stuart Francis who both received Lifetime Achievement awards.

David Jost has been involved in many community organisations over the past 50 years and more recently helped set up and remains a member of the management board on Gladstone Connect. He was also the Chair of Governors at the Gladstone Primary school for over 20 years.

Stuart Francis was MD of the award-winning Hereward Radio, appearing as a presenter. He built the station into a group – Mid Anglia Radio PLC based in the city employing 60 people. Stewart initiated and ran the radio station’s Christmas appeal, which over ten years raised £1million for disabled people.

Local artist Tony Nero received an award for Contribution to Art & Culture whilst former Peterborough Sports manager Jimmy Dean won a Sport Award, following the football club’s promotion to the National League North.

The full list of winners is below:

Civic Awards

  • Dr Azhar Chaudhry
  • Family Voice
  • Louise Craig
  • Miriam Whittam
  • Faustina Yang
  • Simon Kail
  • Fiona Winchester
  • Gemma Wells
  • Raja Raashid
  • Rukhsana Sannee & Helen Walkinshaw
  • Mohammed Afzal
  • Arif Aziz
  • Fiona Cifaldi
  • Christine Cunningham
  • Lisa Chadwick
  • Sally Hudson
  • Bettina Lufferodt
  • Phillippa Phillips
  • Cliff Walker
  • Raimonda Gecaite , Snieguole Maliavskaja & Asta Kavaliuskaite
  • Neil Boyce (Good Neighbours)
  • Martin Chilcott
  • Carol & Andrew Avery
  • Dianne Dearden
  • Prudence Lear
  • Chinese Community Peterborough

Contribution to Art & Culture

Sue Magill

Tony Nero

Romsey Mill

Lifetime Achievement

David Jost

Stewart Francis

Outstanding Commitment to the Environment

Fred Truss

Safina Azam & Intikhab Ahmed

Nathan Minter

Johnny Richardson

Sport Award

FC Peterborough

Yasmin Siddique

Jimmy Dean