Skip to main content

Civic award winners announced

08 March 2024

This year’s Peterborough Civic Award winners have been recognised at a special ceremony. 

The Civic Awards are held annually and aim to recognise residents, groups, organisations and businesses who have made a real difference to the local community. 

In total, 41 awards were given out at a presentation evening at Peterborough Town Hall on 4 March. 

Among the winners was Anne Sturgess who received the Lifetime Achievement award. 

Anne has worked at Peterborough Women’s Aid for over 20 years over this period it’s thought she has supported approximately 1,600 women and children. Anne’s work stood out at the Civic Awards due to her dedication, passion and tireless commitment to supporting victims and families at the hands of domestic abuse.

Another of the winners was Peterborough Voices, who achieved the award for Contribution to Arts and Culture.

Peterborough Voices is an amateur choir, which means it can extend its membership out to any women, even if they don’t have any previous musical or singing background. They have performed both nationally and internationally, attaining a high standard. Last June, they organised an International Women’s Choral Festival which brought in hundreds of singers from all over the UK.

The full list of winners is below: 

Community Involvement Award

· Amit Mehta

· Andrew Petrie

· Bharat Seta

· Cetti Long

· Chris & Vicki Baker

· David Poulton

· Emma Bothamley

· Faizen e Madinah Mosque

· Gemma Douglas

· Laura Vassell

· Lewis Vernum

· Malcolm Hopkins

· Malikia Brewster

· Margaret & Michael Faulkner

· Michelle & Stephen Chapman

· Moez Nathu

· Mohammed Jangher

· Mohammad Ayoub Choudhary

· Muhammad Camran Arif

· PE4 Wombles

· Pip Parker

· Sally Hullock

· Steve Crouch

· Steve Williamson

· Susan Broccoli

· Yasmin Ilahi

Commitment to the Environment Award

· Cliff & Julie Stanton

· Mark Fishpool

Contribution to Art & Culture

· Peterborough Voices

Sport Award

· Egle Norvilaite

· George Sykes & Keith Streeter

· Iqra Academy Girls Football Team

· Will Palmer

Business Award

· Gemma Wright

· Goldstar Cabs

· Kez Hayes Palmer

Young Person Award

· Children in Care Council

· Eva Woods

· Harry Cowley & Oliver Walker

· Peterborough Young Inspectors

Lifetime Achievement

· Anne Sturgess