Skip to main content

New Council Leader appointed

21 May 2024

Labour and Cooperative Councillor Dennis Jones has been voted in as the new Leader of Peterborough City Council. 

The appointment was made at last night’s Annual Council meeting at the Town Hall.

In his speech Councillor Jones said he was ‘honoured and delighted’ to be the new Council Leader and wanted to work collaboratively with members across the chamber.

He went on to say: “As a team we recognise the hard work that lies ahead, but that prospect does not daunt us.

“We have waited patiently in opposition for quite some time, far longer than my tenure as a councillor, and we are now ready to step forward to help write the next chapter of the Peterborough story.

“Most of all, we want to create stability for our council, as that is how we will make the most of the opportunities that exist for our council and our city. I dearly want Peterborough, as one of the fastest growing cities in the country, to truly punch its weight in the region and the country.”

Councillor Jones also announced his new cabinet members who are as follows:

  • Councillor Amjad Iqbal, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Corporate Governance and Finance.
  • Councillor Mohammed Jamil, Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport.
  • Councillor Alison Jones, Cabinet Member for Housing and Communities.
  • Councillor Shabina Qayyum, Cabinet Member for Adults and Health.
  • Councillor Katy Cole, Cabinet Member for Children’s Services.
  • Councillor Nick Thulbourn, Cabinet Member for Regeneration.

The Annual Council meeting is available to watch on the council’s YouTube channel.