Cabinet members

The Council appoints the Leader of the Council (usually a member of the group with the political majority) and he or she appoints up to nine other Councillors (usually of the same political group as the Leader) to serve with the Leader on the Cabinet. One of the Cabinet Members is appointed Deputy Leader. The Cabinet Members assume responsibility for different key areas of local governance. 

The Cabinet is responsible for running the Council services and ensuring best value is delivered, implementing policies and delivering services, approving new policies other than major policies, playing a leadership role within and generally promoting the economic, environmental and social well-being of the city.

The responsibility for decisions has transferred to the Council's Executive which consists of the Cabinet and individual Cabinet members. Decisions made by the Executive will be posted on this site within two days of them being made and are called Executive Decisions.

The leader publishes a rolling programme outlining the 'key decisions' likely to be taken over the next few months. This is called the Forward Plan

The delegated functions for Cabinet and Cabinet Members can be seen in the Executive Functions section (part 3 section 3) of the Council’s constitution.

Current members

Current cabinet members
Name Role Address Ward
Councillor Wayne Fitzgerald Leader of the Council West
Councillor Steve Allen Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Housing, Culture and Communities Eye, Thorney and Newborough
Councillor Irene Walsh Cabinet Member for Integrated Adult Social Care, Health and Public Health Orton Longueville
Councillor Peter Hiller Cabinet Member for Strategic Planning and Commercial Strategy and Investments Glinton and Castor
Councillor Lynne Ayres Cabinet Member for Children's Services, Education, Skills and the University West
Councillor Andy Coles Cabinet Member for Finance Fletton and Woodston
Councillor Nigel Simons Cabinet Member for Waste, Street Scene and the Environment Eye, Thorney and Newborough
Councillor Marco Cereste Cabinet Member for Digital Services and Transformation Hampton Vale
Councillor Gul Nawaz Cabinet Advisor for Community Cohesion Ravensthorpe
Councillor Shazia Bashir Cabinet Advisor for Public Health North
Councillor John Howard Cabinet Advisor for Housing, Culture and Communities Hargate and Hempsted
Councillor Ray Bisby Cabinet Advisor to the Cabinet Member for Childrens Services, Education, Skills and the University Stanground South