Parish Council elections


Parish councils form the first tier of local government and there are 26 within the Peterborough City Council area.

The 26 parish councils in Peterborough, you can find a full list of parish councils in the democracy section.

You can also find your parish using the online map.

Newborough Parish by-election

Following the nomination process which ended at 4pm on Friday 27 January 2023, this election has concluded without contest.

Newborough uncontested parish - February 202377KBpdf
Size: 77KBFile format: pdf

Parish councillor elections - 4 May 2023

On Thursday 4 May 2023, elections will take place in Peterborough for the following polls:

  • Bretton North (15 seats)
  • Bretton South (5 seats)
  • Deeping Gate (7 seats)
  • Etton (5 seats)
  • Eye (12 seats)
  • Eye Green (3 seats)
  • Maxey (7 seats)
  • Northborough (9 seats)

A poll will only take place if there are more nominations than there are seats for the particular parish ward.

Previous parish elections

Please visit our previous election results page to view the results and notices. 

Please note: A poll will only take place if there are more nominations than there are seats for the particular parish ward.


If you require a nomination paper or have any queries relating to local or parish council elections please email or visit the Electoral Commission webpages for local elections or parish council elections.

Parish Council elections - nomination pack1.35MBpdf
Size: 1.35MBFile format: pdf

Parish Councillors

Parish councils are made up of locally elected parish councillors.

To qualify to be a parish councillor you must be:

  • A British citizen, or a citizen of the Commonwealth or the European Union and;
  • At least 18 on the day you are nominated as a candidate

And either:

  • A registered local government elector within the parish or;
  • A resident in the parish, or live within three miles of the parish, or work full time in the parish for at least 12 months prior to the nomination or election day.

A person is disqualified from holding office as a parish or town councillor if:

  • They hold a paid office, or other place of profit in the council.
  • They are the subject of a bankruptcy restriction order or interim order.
  • The have been sentenced to a term of imprisonment of three months or more (including a suspended sentence), without the option of a fine, during the five years before polling day.

Parish councillors can also be co-opted in line with Section 21 of the Representation of the People Act 1985 which allows the parish council to fill vacancies remaining unfilled following an ordinary election if the council believes that it is in the interests of the parish.

If you would like to be considered, please contact the clerk or chair of the relevant parish council

To be eligible you must be 18 years old and meet one of the following criteria:

  • Be a local government elector for the parish, or
  • Be an occupier (owner or tenant) of land or premises in the parish for the previous 12 months, or
  • Have their place of work in the parish for the previous 12 months, or
  • Have resided in the parish for the previous 12 months, or
  • Have resided within three miles of the parish boundary for the previous 12 months.

There may be other restrictions and further information can be found on the Electoral Commission website

Elections take place every four years or when a seat becomes vacant. Different parishes hold their elections on different years and there is one year without any local elections (fallow year). If there are the same number of candidates as there are seats available, no election is required and the seats are allocated to the candidates.

In some circumstances it is possible to be on a parish council when living outside the area. For more information email

If you have been elected as a parish councillor, you may find the documents at the end of this page useful. Declaration of Office and Members Interest forms can also be obtained from and should be returned to the parish clerk in the first instance who will then forward them to Peterborough City Council.

Parish Council Declaration of Interests Guidance Notes303KBpdf
Size: 303KBFile format: pdf
Parish Councils Code of Conduct291KBpdf
Size: 291KBFile format: pdf
Size: 891KBFile format: pdf
Parish Councils Meetings Checklist193KBpdf
Size: 193KBFile format: pdf
Size: 109KBFile format: pdf
Parish Councillor Declaration of Office86KBpdf
Size: 86KBFile format: pdf
Parish Council Dispensation Procedure138KBpdf
Size: 138KBFile format: pdf
Size: 518KBFile format: pdf
Parish Conference Programme 2019253KBpdf
Size: 253KBFile format: pdf
Parish Councils Community Governance Reviews25KBpdf
Size: 25KBFile format: pdf
Parish Council Gift and Hospitality Form160KBpdf
Size: 160KBFile format: pdf
Size: 58KBFile format: pdf
Size: 86KBFile format: pdf
Size: 131KBFile format: pdf