Term dates

School term dates 2017/18

There are 190 core teaching days for our maintained schools. Academies, foundation free and voluntary aided schools set their own term dates. The term dates set out below include five professional days (non-teaching days).

Term dates are determined by the Local Authority in liaison with its neighbours. However, please note that the governing bodies of Peterborough schools and academies may decide to vary the dates.

Further details and clarification are available from the school or academy concerned. You are strongly advised to check with you child’s school before making holiday plans or other commitments.

Autumn term 2017

  • Opens - Monday 4 September
  • Half term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October
  • Ends - Tuesday 19 December 

Spring term 2018

  • Opens - Wednesday 3 January
  • Half term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February 
  • Ends - Thursday 29 March

Summer term 2018

  • Opens - Monday 16 April 
  • Half term: Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June
  • Ends - Tuesday 24 July 

Bank holidays

  • Monday 7 May 2018
  • Monday 28 May 2018

Professional days

Each school has free rein to set 5 professional days which are normally outside of the core dates. Please check with your school directly for confirmation of which days are their professional days.

Proposed term dates 2018/2019

Term dates are determined by the Local Authority in liaison with its neighbours. However, please note the governing bodies of Peterborough academies, voluntary aided schools and free schools are able to set different dates. 

The school term dates set out below include five professional days (non-teaching days) which all schools determine at their own discretion within term time. 

Autumn term 2018

  • Opens - Wednesday 5 September
  • Half term - Monday 22 to Friday 26 October
  • Ends - Wednesday 19 December

Spring term 2019

  • Opens - Wednesday 2 January
  • Half term - Monday 18 to Friday 22 February
  • Ends - Friday 5 April

Summer term 2019

  • Opens - Tuesday 23 April
  • Half term - Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May
  • Ends - Wednesday 24 July

Bank holidays

  • Monday 6 May 2019
  • Monday 27 May 2019