Term dates

School term dates 2016/17

There are 190 core teaching days for our maintained schools. Academies, foundation free and voluntary aided schools set their own term dates.

Autumn term 2016

  • Opens - Wednesday 7 September
  • Half term - Monday 24 to Friday 28 October
  • Ends - Wednesday 21 December

Spring term 2017

  • Opens - Wednesday 4 January
  • Half term - Monday 20 to Friday 24 February
  • Ends - Friday 7 April

Summer term 2017

  • Opens - Wednesday 26 April
  • May Day - Monday 1 May
  • Half term - Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June
  • Ends - Thursday 20 July

Professional days

Each school has free rein to set 5 professional days which are normally outside of the core dates. Please check with your school directly for confirmation of which days are their professional days.

The most likely identified dates for the professional dates outside these core dates are:

  • Monday 5 September 2016
  • Tuesday 6 September 2016
  • Tuesday 3 January 2017
  • Monday 24 April 2017
  • Tuesday 25 April 2017

School term dates 2017/18

There are 190 core teaching days for our maintained schools. Academies, foundation free and voluntary aided schools set their own term dates. The term dates set out below include five professional days (non-teaching days).

Term dates are determined by the Local Authority in liaison with its neighbours. However, please note that the governing bodies of Peterborough schools and academies may decide to vary the dates.

Further details and clarification are available from the school or academy concerned. You are strongly advised to check with you child’s school before making holiday plans or other commitments.

Autumn term 2017

  • Opens - Monday 4 September
  • Half term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October
  • Ends - Tuesday 19 December 

Spring term 2018

  • Opens - Wednesday 3 January
  • Half term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February 
  • Ends - Thursday 29 March

Summer term 2018

  • Opens - Monday 16 April 
  • Half term: Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June
  • Ends - Tuesday 24 July 

Bank holidays

  • Monday 7 May 2018
  • Monday 28 May 2018

Professional days

Each school has free rein to set 5 professional days which are normally outside of the core dates. Please check with your school directly for confirmation of which days are their professional days.